Archive

Archive for 16/08/2011

Preview Of Arsenal’s Champions League Qualifier + Latest Odds

16/08/2011 2 comments

Arsenal vs Udinese

It has been a tough couple of days for Arsenal fans losing their former captain Cesc Fabregas to Barcelona but to be honest most fans expected the outcome and it was just the case of the transfer concluding sooner rather than later. The question is will Arsene Wenger spend big to find an adequate replacement but judging by his transfer record I suggest maybe not.  But I believe it is vital that he does in order for Arsenal to compete at the highest level.  If I was Arsene I would personally have asked Barca’s Thiago Alcantara to be added as part of the deal as he is a magnificent player and has recently broken into the Spainish national team at the tender age of 20. But I guess Arsene Wenger has other targets in mind.

Back to tonight’s game I think Arsenal face a tough Italian opposition in Udinese who have a great defensive record and scored 65 goals last season in their domestic league, the same as Serie A Champions AC Milan. But their main attacking force last season was Chilean Winger Alexis Sanchez who has now switched clubs and plays his trade in Spain with Barcelona. However, Udinese still have enough attacking power to cause damage and the danger man in particular is Antonio Di Natale who was last season’s Serie A top goal scorer with 28 goals.

Despite the first leg being at the Emirates Stadium I can’t see Arsenal playing in full force tonight as the departure of Cesc Fabregas has surely destabilized the squad and there’s the possibility of more departures to come in particular Samir Nasri who has been omitted from the squad.  So therefore I’m going for a surprise Udinese win and I really hope I get this one right as my previous predictions haven’t gone to plan.

My Prediction

Udinese WIN

Arsenal 0 – 1 Udinese

Goal Scorer: Kwadwo Asamoah (Udinese)

Latest Odds:

Win Draw Win

                                     
Arsenal 4/7 4/7 1/2 4/7 8/15 8/15
Draw 11/4 11/4 3/1
14/5 11/4 11/4
Udinese 11/2 11/2 6/1 5/1 11/2 11/2

First Scorer


                             
Gervinho 4/1 9/2 4/1 4/1 5/1 9/2
Maroune Chamakh 6/1 9/2 9/2 9/2 9/2 6/1
Antonio Di Natale 7/1 6/1 7/1 7/1 8/1 7/1
Kwadwo Asamoah 20/1 18/1 20/1 20/1 25/1 22/1

Carlos Who??? – Sergio Kun Aguero vs Swansea (Video)

16/08/2011 Leave a comment